Sounds of iO

Sounds of iO are Chris Taubert and Steve Travell. The pair met back in 2006 when Steve was asked to produce an album of the band that Chris was in at the time. But it wasn’t until 2016 that Chris brought Steve a handful of new musical ideas he had been working on.

The two realised they had much in common musically with a love of downtempo, trip hop and ambient soundscapes and were soon bouncing ideas of each other. Chris with his twisted sensibilities and Steve with his history as a producer and sound engineer they both soon realised they were creating something special.

As their repetoire grew the pair decided to start bringing in additional musicians to expand their sound.

Flute parts were supplied by Steve’s oldest friend, Martyn Willis, and as he and Steve were in several bands back in the day, Steve wanted the chance for them to both appear on new music together.

The track ‘Circles’ changed direction after Martyn’s contribution. From that moment the bar for the whole album was raised. They re-thought a lot about their sound and realised bringing in people only expanded the Sounds of iO. Martyn also contributed to the jazzier track ‘Mdoj’.

Two other tracks, ‘Everytime’ and ‘The Rules Have Changed’ feature sublime vocalist Bri Macanas (from Black Palms), again who has pushed the act into new territories with her exceptional voice.

Scottish guitarist Pim Jones, (Hipsway) has played a major contribution to several tracks ‘Omni’, ‘Cosmic Ice Cream Man’ and ‘The Rules Have Changed’ creating haunting layered atmospheres that once again completely changing iO’s sonic landscape.

Finally guitarist Sam Barnett helped shape the last track on the album. Without his contribution ‘The Rules Have Changed’ would have remained just an ambient noodling.

Five cycles around the Sun since their original musings, Chris and Steve are now very proud to present the ‘Sounds of iO’.

Follow Sounds of iO

iO - Inspirations

iO - Slow Motions

iO's Vibes  

Sounds of iO

Sounds of iO

Catalog # : MOMRA001

Release date: 05/11/2021

Sounds of iO


Catalog # : MOMR008

Release date: 01/10/2021

Sounds of iO

Three Six Nine

Catalog # : MOMR005

Release date: 20/08/2021


Cafe Love

Catalog # : MOMR014

Release date: 15/07/2022

Casual Jumper

Seat Sighing EP

Catalog # : MOMR013

Release date: 08/07/2022



Catalog # : MOMRA002

Release date: 27/05/2022



Catalog # : MOMR012

Release date: 20/05/2022